Monday, December 10, 2012


If you have the CompTIA A+Network+Security+, Storage+, or CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP)  certification, you're required to complete and register continuing education units (CEUs). This blog covers many of the common questions surrounding CEUs.

Common Questions 

Here are some of the common questions related to CEUs. You can also view some questions and answers on the CompTIA site at the following pages:

Which Certifications Require CEUs?

Only the following certifications are currently in the CompTIA CEU program.
  • CompTIA A+
  • CompTIA Network+
  • CompTIA Security+
  • CompTIA Storage+
  • CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP)

How Much Does it Cost?

The following list shows the annual fee and cost for each of these certifications.
  • CompTIA A+ $25 (Total $75)
  • CompTIA Network+ $49 (Total $147)
  • CompTIA Security+ $49 (Total $147)
  • CompTIA Storage+ 49 (Total $147)
  • CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP) $49 (Total $147)

Do I Have to Earn CEUs for All CompTIA Certifications

No. You only need to earn certifications for the highest level of certification.  The following list shows the order of lowest to highest level of certification.
  • CompTIA A+
  • CompTIA Network+
  • CompTIA Security+
  • CompTIA Storage+
  • CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP)
In other words, if you have A, Network+, and Security+, you only need to meet the requirements of Security+.

How Many CEUs Do I Need

The following list shows how many CEUs you need for each certification.
  • CompTIA A+ 20 CEUs
  • CompTIA Network+ 30 CEUs
  • CompTIA Security+ 50 CEUs
  • CompTIA Storage+ 50CEUs
  • CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP) 75CEUs

What Can I Do To Earn CEUs?

The most common way to earn CEUs is to pass the most current version of the exam or a higher level exam.  For example, if you have the A+, you're required to gain 20 CEUs. If you then pass the Network+, you earn 30 CEUs and met the requirement for the A+.
You can also meet the requirement taking and passing another vendor's higher level certification.  For example, if you have the CompTIA Security+, you'll meet he requirement by taking and passing the ISC2 SSCP or CISSP. This page lists the other certifications that give full credit.  Click on the [+] to view the qualifying certifications for each group.
Some other activities that qualify are:
  • Teaching or lecturing on relevant topics.
  • Attending courses or computer based training
  • Attending relevant conferences or events
  • Attending a CompTIA exam development workshop
  • Publishing, books, blogs, articles, or whitepapers
A full list of qualifying activities including how many credits for each are listed in this PDF.

Do I Need To Pay If I'm In The DoD?

No. If you're in the United States Department of Defense (DoD), these fees are paid for by the DoD. This does not apply to DoD contractors but instead only active duty and civil service employees. This page has most of the information you need.

How Do I Register my CEUs?

You first need to register with the CompTIA site. You can do so from here. If you've registered before, you can log in from here.
You are required to comply with the CompTIA Code of Ethics Policy and be up to date for the required maintenance fees before you can register.


The following list summarizes the order of the CompTIA certifications requiring CEUs, the annual and total cost of each, and how many CEUs are required.
  • CompTIA A+ $25 (Total $75), 20 CEUs required
  • CompTIA Network+ $49 (Total $147), 30 CEUs required
  • CompTIA Security+ $49 (Total $147), 50 CEUs required
  • CompTIA Storage+ 49 (Total $147), 50 CEUs required
  • CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP) $49 (Total $147), 75CEUs required